Books/book review/fiction/Romance/crime fiction
0 Comments

4 Red Hot Heroines

Red Hot Divas Book Cover Red Hot Divas
Mimi Barbour
Crime, Thrillers & Mystery, Anthologies
Sarna Publishing; 1 edition
(17 July 2016)
Kindle

Special Agent Francesca (Award-winning novel) Book #1 – Undercover FBI: Violence, suspense and sizzling romance explode during Francesca’s humorous journey, fighting off the mob! Dr. Sean Collins wants to tame her! Yeah-like that’s gonna happen. Only one thing keeps Francesca motivated. Proving to her mother, the FBI “Snow Queen”, that working undercover is where she belongs.

Roll the Dice Book #2 – Vegas Series: This powerful, romantic suspense about two detectives with differing agendas - yet after the same rapist – will grab you and the continuing conflicts will keep you entranced. Kai, the bald-headed, blue-eyed, purse-carrying cowboy tries to wrestle control from his new partner, gorgeous yet grumpy Aurora, but till the shocking end she fights him… and then things really deteriorate.

Let it Ride Book #6 – Vegas Series: Lisa Jordan’s life changes drastically after she begins work as a detective in Vegas. Her new female partner is a pit-bull. Her sister passes on and she becomes guardian for her adorable, three-year-old nephew. And she sleeps with a millionaire casino owner who’s kidnapped shortly after. Their steamy one-night-stand forces her to take the case… like she has any choice.

This is an anthology set in Las Vegas where the heroines will become known to each other.

Book 1 is about an undercover FBI agent who is a Martial Arts Champion.

Books 2 and 3 are about cops in the Las Vegas Police Dept – in my opinion, the heroine in book 3 was the least convincing.

For me, Mimi Barbour writes heroines as we wished we were. They have long slim legs. They are athletic. They have beautiful hair and are admired and respected by the men they work with, and for. They are loved intensely by strong males who adore babies and small children, and who will protect them at all costs.

There is lots of humour in these stories – see the cops when they become Las Vegas showgirls with blue feathers – and in the ( nice) scenes between characters.

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/crime fiction
0 Comments

How would display your maids?

Beautiful Maids all in a Row Book Cover Beautiful Maids all in a Row
Iris Ballard
Jennifer Harlow
crime, thriller, suspense, female sleuths
Alibi
Kindle

In this white-knuckle thriller for fans of Lisa Gardner and Karin Slaughter, a brilliant, troubled forensic psychologist finds herself matching wits with a frighteningly talented sociopath.

Dr. Iris Ballard’s glory days are behind her, so when Luke Hudson, her former FBI partner and onetime lover, asks for help constructing a psychological profile of an elusive serial killer who murders single mothers and dumps their bodies in the woods, Iris turns him away. She just wants to be left alone with her infomercials, her German Shepherd, and her vodka. That is, until she gets a peek at the case files.

The media has dubbed him “the Woodsman.” But after Iris learns the sickening details held back from the press, and as she sets foot onto the scene of his latest crime, she assembles a portrait of a more complicated, enigmatic, meticulous man. Control is his motivation. He thrives on it. Soon he even tries to manipulate the investigation by contacting Iris, hoping to rattle the woman he considers an intellectual equal.

The game is on. Iris thinks she has a read on her target, enough to push his buttons, to make him lose control. But when the Woodsman gains the upper hand, Iris faces the most painful reckoning of all—with her own violent past.

This was the first book by the author when she was aged 19. Since then she has written a dozen more and this has now been re-edited and published in 2016.

As with many first books the subject matter is formulaic.

There is a damaged female forensic psychologist working for the FBI but now retired due to traumatic episode in her life and work.

She is brought back for a serial killer case due to her unique expertise.

The serial killer beats the system and comes for her.

So far, so formulaic. But.

The book is well written with the characters being well portrayed.

This was an excellent book [for someone of her age] even before being tidied up for current publication.

I would give it 3.5/4 stars.

Share This:

Books/book review/fiction/crime fiction
0 Comments

A very brave nun

This is part of an excellent series about a nun turned PI.

Here we have family issues – her brother and his wife and their children for her to deal with, her very new pregnancy, and then there are her clients.

And one of her clients seems to have got involved with a group of people who are preparing to live off the grid just in case of Doomsday.

Now Doomsday seems to be a fad amongst people in certain US states -  not so much here in the UK but then we don’t have quite as much wilderness for them to get lost in and they certainly couldn’t hunt for their meat! Not a legal pastime here.

Now you can watch a reality TV show – on YouTube that was aired on National Geographic and there is a Face book page too: https://www.facebook.com/doomsdaypreppers/.  And you can play a game based on this too – to get you ready for your own prepping I guess.  And if you want support there is probably a group meeting near you. I did find a UK shop for UK preppers and a website so I investigated more. They are trying to prepare for natural disasters as well as man-made – which of course include hurricanes. They have a current blog about the 5 best herbs to know about and they surprised me as to which were chosen:
  • Burdock for a poultice for bruises and burns, and a root for carbs.
  • Dandelion for detox and diuretic (piss en lit as the French call it);
  • Plantain for insect bites, rashes, ski infections. Use in a tea for IBS.
  • Yarrow for anti bacterial, anti inflammatory, a oultice for deep wounds – which follows, and in a tea for high blood pressure and colds;
  • Self-heal for fevers and viruses.
I also love the ‘voice’ of the convent school teacher. Back in the day I ha done too – and got offered several school teaching posts based on it!

As she says: ‘in or out of the convent, crabgrass is easier to uproot than Franciscan values’. These being Respect, Compassion, Service and Integrity.

Some notes on items that interested me in the book:

Coffee growing outdoors in the US is very unlikely but possible in a greenhouse – my plats are currently over-summering there – not growing well but they do take 4-5 years to grow to flowering size. Perhaps they should use the type that likes to grow in shady forest?

Sheep cheese – an Italian that has never eaten Pecorino? Seems unlikely to me. We personally love Pecorino. Pecora means sheep in Italian after all. They come in different ages which makes a difference to taste. They are always slightly salty and make a great alternative to Parmesan. The older the cheese is, ie over 6 months, the drier and more crumbly.

I have had read books in this series before and liked them and this was satisfying in its conclusion where all the questions were wrapped up.

4 stars. I received this free book in exchange for an honest review

Share This:

Books/crime fiction
0 Comments

No Doubts here then?

Here we have a local radio and news reporter wanting to be more – to report ‘hard’ news rather than the usual local gossip.

We also have a series of jewel thefts and a friend with access to the Hollywood rich. A Spanish grandee and polo; a reclusive heiress and vintage jewels; an auction; the FBI and a Master of Disguises.

All of which adds up to a nice mystery and thriller and crime novel with a believable heroine and good stylish writing.

An enjoyable novel.

An Honest Review for NetGalley and Henery Press.

 

Share This:

Books/book review/Romance/crime fiction
0 Comments

Mysteries of the Graves

Addictive reading
Book 1 : Armed and Fabulous is where I started.
Now here was a five star book that hooked me into reading all 8 one after the other!
 We have the heroine – a blonde bimbo who isn’t – reminiscent of Legally Blonde films – with similar behaviours.... the not quite up to it when asked to undertake a difficult or complicated task. The very long lunch hours. The hair twisting and dumb looks. The lengthy time to do the simplest thing. The online shoe shopping when they should be typing..
Oh yes. The shoes! And did I mention the shoes?manolo
She just loves expensive stilettos by designers such as Manolo Blahnik and has quite a collection that grows ever larger. Anyone feel the love coming on? When I was in full-time work I started the day in 3” stilettos; as the day wore on the 2” came out from under the desk; then the 1” flatties and then back to the 3” for home. But all colours and shades and decorations. I had found a shop that sold shoes taken from the wardrobes of films and TV series when they were no longer needed... yeah – really great ones, at a great price.
 She has 2 hotties to choose from. Yum yum as she says.traingle
 She is a lot smarter than she looks and behaves but uses her behaviour to her advantage – until one hottie works out he is being played and that there is a really good investigator – with a great best friend – hiding. And then the 2nd hottie also finds out that she is not as dumb as she acts.
 The act of course is defensive to cover up some past episodes in her life which haven’t gone so well and suits her until she finds her niche. Which by the end of book 8 she certainly does. And uses her bimbo behaviour to solve crimes as who can believe the dumb temp can really be a Private Investigator?
 I am now waiting for book 9 ...

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com