Books
0 Comments

Islands in the snow: book review

island - Islands in the snow: book review Christmas Island by Natalie Normann HarperCollins UK, One More Chapter You Like Them One More Chapter Romance Pub Date 30 Nov 2020

In the bleak midwinter… A really frosty wind is making Holly’s life absolutely miserable After all the years of hard work it took Londoner Holly Greene to become a doctor, now it could all be taken away and she only has herself to blame. She’s retreating to her brother’s rustic home on an island off the coast of Norway to lick her wounds. Only, it’s the middle of winter and icy slush plus endless darkness isn’t exactly the cheery, festive getaway she had imagined. Nearly stumbling off the edge of a cliff in the dark, Holly is saved by Frøy, a yellow-eyed cat of fearsome but fluffy proportions, and his owner – grouchy, bearded recluse, Tor. Tor has his own problems to face but the inexplicable desire to leave a bag of freshly baked gingerbread men on Holly’s doorstep is seriously getting in the way of his hermit routine. Call it kindness, call it Christmas, but Holly’s arrival means midwinter has never looked less bleak.

We could be in one of the far flung Scottish islands – but we are not, we are in Norway – on one of their far flung islands where there is a very small community, everyone knows everyone else’s business, there is nothing to do, and it is very cold, very wet and very dark most of the year. Yes, the correct type of place to hide away in total isolation and be a hermit. it is also rather windy as next stop is America and the wind comes across a cold ocean. [No point having a balcony when you go across by boat we found out after having paid extra for one!]

As with many of these remote islands, the animals, usually sheep, are of a rare breed who have learnt to survive on a very particular diet which only exists on one island. Like the Soay sheep or the Boreray sheep or the Orkney sheep which live on seaweed. Many of these are now feral or are in rare breed farms. So our heroine’s brother has a flock of his rare breed sheep – Norway has a few too – in fact there are more rare breed sheep than any other type of animal as man has spent of his energy on cross breeding them for his particular environment. the funniest looking is this one – serious coats here!

Leicester Long wool Sheep - Islands in the snow: book review
Leicester Long Wool
220px North ron sheep - Islands in the snow: book review
Orkney
220px Boreray Ram - Islands in the snow: book review
Boreray
220px Soay ewe - Islands in the snow: book review
Soay

We also have a lovely cat belonging to our hermit – a Norwegian Forest cat – this is a large breed of nicely mannered cat but they are smaller than the Maine Coons but just as friendly – we now have 2 Maine Coons and this is our male:

20200618 212644 2 1024x635 - Islands in the snow: book review
Note the creamy coloured tail – like fair ground spun sugar! He is a ‘Red’ and very amiable and talkative- he calls for the next door cat to go on patrol! Oh and 16 pounds in weight and over 3 foot in length.

I did think that our hermit had seriously got the Covid and the whole island had the zoom etiquette down pat.

In many ways a quite traditional romance story – beauty and the beast trope – with a nice twist with the island, winter, xmas, and cat.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

What you and your sister might do:

content?id=L2MFEAAAQBAJ&printsec=frontcover&img=1&zoom=1&edge=curl&source=gbs api - What you and your sister might do: The Stepsisters
Susan Mallery
Fiction, Contemporary Romance,
HarperCollins UK
May 25, 2021
400

Who better to mend a broken heart than your sister?

When Daisy’s dad married Sage's mum, Daisy was thrilled to get a new sister. Except Sage was beautiful and popular, everything Daisy was not, and she made sure Daisy knew it.

Sage found herself living in a palatial home where she felt she didn't belong. She didn't have her new sister’s intelligence so she used her popularity as a weapon, putting Daisy down at every opportunity. After the divorce, the stepsisters' rivalry continued until the final straw: Daisy married Sage's first love, and Sage fled to Europe.

Eighteen years later, Daisy never expects—or wants—to see Sage again. But brought together by an accident involving the little sister they have in common they must learn to put aside their differences. Slowly, the stepsisters begin to view the past through one another's eyes and long buried feelings are revealed. Until their fragile truce is threatened by one careless act that could have devastating consequences….

image 16 683x1024 - What you and your sister might do:

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

What happens in Miami stays there? Book Review

content?id=8sz2DwAAQBAJ&printsec=frontcover&img=1&zoom=1&edge=curl&source=gbs api - What happens in Miami stays there? Book Review Night Shifts With The Miami Doc
(Mills & Boon Medical)
Ann McIntosh
Fiction
HarperCollins UK
February 18, 2021
192
three star - What happens in Miami stays there? Book Review

Fast-paced days… and slow, sultry nights!

Dr. Regina’s temporary job in Miami is a chance to refocus. So, she’s unprepared for her former resident, Dr. Mateo, to be working in the same hospital. Or, for Mateo to make it clear, that he wants her…

In essence this is a standard rom com – and the doctor in question did night shifts on rotation not all the time so title is incorrect. The story twists were that she was older than him; he was once her student; and she was only in Miami for a sabbatical. Nice to read she was African American and that the potential issues of inter-racial relationships did NOT arise. Nicely written but at a semi-superficial level – you don’t get to really learn or empathise with the characters or the setting.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Turner rules OK. Book Review.

content?id=dJ6CDwAAQBAJ&printsec=frontcover&img=1&zoom=1&edge=curl&source=gbs api - Turner rules OK. Book Review. Accidentally in Love
Belinda Missen
Fiction, romance, College humour, love, sex and marriage, new adult
HarperCollins UK
September 11, 2020
384
four star - Turner rules OK. Book Review.

In the space of a week, Katharine Patterson has quit her job, decided to move back home, and broken up with the guy she thought was the one.

No big deal.

Because Katharine has a plan. She’s going to open her own art gallery, just like she’s always wanted. What she’s not going to do is worry about boyfriends.

Then she meets Kit, a handsome and talented local artist. He might be the most stubborn person Katharine has ever met. He might also make her feel like no one ever has before.

And Katharine might be about to fall accidentally in love

Well well, Sheffield has certainly changed since I lived there..

We left many years back when the River Don was still a nasty smelling sewer full of chemicals and not a place to sit by.. The steel industry went into decline and Sheffield suffered badly, but seems to have pulled itself back up with a lot of Yorkshire grit no doubt.

We liked being so close to the moors but not above the snow line – you needed to watch out for that – the closer to the moors, the higher you were and the colder it got.. and we are forever grateful that we were outbid on the house with best view ever! The art in this story made the telling even better for me, as I also love Turner and the Romantics and the Arts and Crafts movement. we go to as many exhibitions as we can here in London, which is such a joy for us, and we are so looking forward to going to the galleries again – Covid permitting. we buy local original art when we can afford it – we have a wall or two full of it and always complaining we have no more room but always finding room for yet more… we don’t like prints but do like the work our friends produce!

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Off to the seaside! Book Review.

content?id=u6t8DwAAQBAJ&printsec=frontcover&img=1&zoom=1&source=gbs api - Off to the seaside! Book Review. Meet Me at Pebble Beach
Bella Osborne
Fiction, Women's fiction
HarperCollins UK, Avon
May 28, 2020
416
three star - Off to the seaside! Book Review.

Meet Me at Pebble Beach was originally published as a four-part serial. This is the complete story in one package. Regan is holding a winning lottery ticket. Goodbye to the boyfriend who never had her back, and so long to the job she can’t stand! Except it’s all a bit too good to be true… When Regan gets pranked, she finds herself jobless, homeless and boyfriendless in one fell swoop. Luckily her friendly seaside community provides a beacon of hope, proving to Regan that sometimes you really can rely on the kindness of others – and one local in particular, a handsome fireman called Charlie, helps Regan realise that this could be her chance for a fresh start. Armed with a list of ways to change her life, Regan decides it’s time to step out of her comfort zone. Because – as Charlie knows all too well – life is for living . . . A feel-good summer read, perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Veronica Henry and Cressida McLaughlin.

wolfhound - Off to the seaside! Book Review.

This was an interesting story in that i thought it could have been better. The concept was good but the proof of concept needed improvement.

There was more opportunity for humour than was used, and the starting chapters were rather dull and lacking in originality. The later chapters improved but her final solution was not, for me, fully realised and believable. an almost story. I am giving it 3 stars because for some people it will appeal.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com