Books
0 Comments

When a Mountain can Shelter you: Book Review

OK – so this is actually Virgin River and this book is where the TV series starts. A mother and her son arrive in the small town, on a wet and windy night and take up an isolated residence. They try to keep to themselves and this is a town where strangers are obvious, but also their need not to socialise is respected. Thus our young mother keeps to herself – as much as she can remembering she has a small son.

As is often the case, when single mothers appear in a small isolated and ‘hidden’ small town, they turn out to be running away from something (trope) – frequently an abusive relationship or a crime they witnessed. And Jack Preacher (ex-military) knows that a split lip and bruises equals abuse. So he finds himself caring for this woman and her child and enables them to hide away – for a while at least.

This is really the start of the series and as such we get introduced to the main characters and their role/s in the township.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Can’t run very far: Book Review

So Amnesia means memory loss - only the loss of a marriage that is in tatters due to his business obsession was perhaps a good thing. After all, our hero can now romance his wife again - and also, of course, learn new behaviours.
So that is the trope that this story is based on and as such it does a good job of following it, with the inevitable happy ending.  
The one thing you know for sure, is that with a M&B novel it will be well researched, well written stylistically, and not full of the proofing errors that dog self-published books. A good editor will have checked it through and made sure the storyline follows correctly.
As such, this book delivers. And those who want a nice summer read should enjoy it.

.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Blended Families: Book Review

I also gave this book to a friend to read to ensure that my thoughts were valld.
Together we felt that despite the book having no printing errors - which is  what we would expect from this publisher, there were perhaps some plot lines that had gone awry, for instance arriving at a cafe by bike and leaving by car. What happened to the bikes?
The book was diverting and worth a summer garden/beachside read, but no more than that. The genre was '"poor little rich dysfunctional "girls""; with angel-or-devil men,  a somewhat improbable plot - perhaps compensated for by clever dialogue. 
A creative-writing exercise would be to present it from the viewpoint of Esmerelda the Filipina housekeeper, who had a tragic backstory but seemed the most level-headed of them all (probably stereotyping but offers room for character development by another author?).
 Perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan and Heidi Swain

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Why is she out of bounds? Book Review

Another story in the ‘wrong man’ trope.

He wants her, but she is close to marrying his brother – but if he has her, she has to go out of the country with him due to his previous commitments. Thus taking her away from all she knows and her family. And how can he steal his brother’s intended wife? Even it was an arranged marriage?

Follows the trope in nice style.

When you read a Mills and boon novel you know that there won’t be many, if any, proofreading errors and it will be historically accurate. And, depending on the imprint, can be cosy or racy. This was cosy. With little unexpected twists and turns.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Let’s go surfing?

This is part of a series about girl friends who had an accident in Cornwall when they were teenagers.

Each girl has issues as a result of this car accident including one who is paralysed.

But this is Malie’s story.

Malie comes from a family who ran a surf shop in Cornwall and thus spent all her life surfing until  her family shut up shop and she was forbidden to undertake a dangerous sport.

It appears that at least one of Malie’s parents is from Hawaii, but the story doesn’t tell us how they ended up in Cornwall.

I found that some of the story line was confusing. There didn’t seem to have been enough time elapsed for Malie’s surfing competition wins in Hawaii to have occurred considering she didn’t move there until after she left school.

There was a lot of mental angst  on Malie’s behalf but I didn’t find it convincing.

Overall not as good the previous stories in this series.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com