Books
0 Comments

Renee George and books

Hex Book Cover Hex
Barkside of the Moon
Renee George
humour, mystery, cosy, paranormal
Barkside of the Moon Press

Pit Bulls are Sweet . . . and that’s no mystery! Shifter Lily Mason and her pit bull Smooshie are once again on the trail of a murderer and this time close to home! Sometimes, trying to be part of the human world can be a real killer. . . Cougar-shifter Lily Mason is ready to put down roots in the human town of Moonrise, Missouri. She only has two problems: her attraction and proximity to Parker Knowles, her boss at the Pit Bull Rescue Shelter, and her need to shift into animal form more than once a month. When she gets the opportunity to buy a “fixer-upper” outside of Moonrise with plenty of room to get wild without running into easily freaked-out humans, Lily jumps at the chance. Smooshie, Lily’s lovable pit bull and partner in chaos, is eager to participate with the home improvements. Unfortunately, Smooshie’s help includes digging out a mummified body from the living room wall. Lily is still recovering from the last murder investigation she got involved in–and she’s not looking forward to being in the middle of another one. The case gets even stickier when Lily’s landlord is murdered, rumors of a heist gone wrong run rampant, and Parker’s old high school buddies have returned to Moonrise, thus increasing the suspect pool. Lily’s attempts to become a bona fide citizen of Moonrise might well be thwarted by this newest complication–especially when the murderer sets sights on her. Murder & The Money Pit, Book 2 of the Barkside of the Moon Mysteries from USA Today bestselling paranormal cozy mystery author Renee George, is a gripping murder mystery that keeps you guessing from beginning to end!

I am reviewing here 2 series by the author Renee George. She writes humorous stories with fun heroines and cosy in style – not too graphic but..

I read 3 books in the Hex series. They were 4 stars but could have been 5 stars if they were longer. The opposite to other books – I found these too short! The story telling was sharp, funny with good characterisation and the story moved along at a good pace. Just needed some more events in the whole storyline..

I then read 4 Books in Barkside of the Moon series :

Really cute series. Cosy but plenty of murders, some suspense and romance – thwarted and unresolved.

So, 2 shifters move into a human town and try to conceal their differences. Buzz is a short order chef and Lily, his niece,  works part-time as an assistant in a pit-bull rescue centre and has a pit-bull softie herself.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

What a housewife does in between chores

The Housewife Assassin's Horrorscope Book Cover The Housewife Assassin's Horrorscope
Housewife Assassin #18
Josie Brown
humour, crime, thriller,
Signal Press
(16 Nov. 2018)

Murder. Suspense. Romance. And some handy household tips.

IN BOOK 18 OF THE HOUSEWIFE ASSASSIN SERIES:

Donna, Jack, and their Acme black ops team must find twelve suspects, each born under a different Zodiac sign, who hold the clues to a Doomsday operation that will embroil the United States in a world war.

Always before a 4 star but heading down with this book to a 3, I think the series is beginning to get a little tired, and to my mind, this story not quite up to standard. I only managed one snigger and a couple of smiles.

I also didn’t find the chapter intros as amusing as usual.

We now have Jack happily married with our housewife (not) and all the other romances going smoothly. There seemed not to be any major hiccups, mis-representations, or even sexy escapades from our housewife, although Jack nearly got into trouble. So all the things that make the series fun were largely missing.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

And up to the Dead ‘line’

Deadline
Box set
Wendy Soliman
crime, murder, suspense
Independently published
kindle

The only issue I had with this nice 2 story series is that it had the potential for turning into a Midsommer Murders series.

Nicely written with believable characters and good twists.

This is not the usual genre for Wendy – she mostly write historical romance.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

How to kill successfully

Perfect Kill Book Cover Perfect Kill
DCI Luc Callanach
Helen Fields
Fiction
HarperCollins UK, Avon
February 6, 2020
416

He had never heard himself scream before. It was terrifying.

Drugged and kidnapped, the realisation soon dawns that he’s been locked inside a shipping container far from his Edinburgh home. But what Bart doesn’t yet know is that he’s now heading for France where his unspeakable fate is already sealed…

DCI Ava Turner and DI Luc Callanach are working on separate cases that soon collide as it becomes clear that the men and women being shipped to France are being traded for women trafficked into Scotland.

With so many lives at stake, they face an impossible task – but there’s no option of failure when Bart and so many others will soon be dead…

Get ready for a rollercoaster ride like no other, with the next gripping thriller from the number one bestselling crime author, Helen Fields. The perfect read for fans of M. J. Arlidge and Karin Slaughter.

Ah yes, the Frenchman and the Scotswoman and their on again off again romance.

Luc is back in France helping Interpol  with some PT distress about his sex life. His case involves a Scottish lad who turns up dead after all his organs have been removed! And Ava gets a shot victim after a trafficked Romanian girl attempts to escape from her captors. And this case winds up and up and up.. Two disparate cases you think but a twist of course.

Now a word to the author please. Helen, you either have a very sick imagination of you have been researching some very sick criminals. I hope it is the latter!

The twists and turns of these cases and crimes make for nail biting reading. Well plotted, well planned and well written.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Floating or Drowning?

Woman in the Water Book Cover Woman in the Water
Katerina Diamond
Mystery Thriller Murder
Harper Collins, Avon Books

When a woman’s body is found submerged in icy water, police are shocked to find she is alive. But she won’t disclose her name, or what happened to her – even when a second body is discovered. And then she disappears from her hospital bed. Detectives Adrian Miles and Imogen Grey follow their only lead to the home of the Corrigans, looking for answers. But the more they dig into the couple’s lives, the less they understand about them. What’s their connection to the body in the river? Why have other people they know been hurt, or vanished? And can they discover the dark truth of their marriage before it’s too late? Smart, shocking and twisty – perfect for fans of Cara Hunter and Karin Slaughter.

I really thought I knew how this would end about three-quarters of the way through, but I was so wrong!

The ending is a 5 star for me, but overall, I thought the story needed tightening up and a general edit, which is why it gets a 4.

For once this police procedural demonstrates just how long it can take to solve a murder. The intricacies of police procedures that must be followed and the fact that people don’t always work through the night, but go home at 5 and come in at 9 even when they are trying to solve a murder. Much more realistic.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com