Books
0 Comments

Xmas puds.. and cash

A Very Lucky Christmas Book Cover A Very Lucky Christmas
Lilac Mills
Fiction, women's fiction, romance, humour
Canelo
August 20, 2018
300

Things can't get worse for Daisy Jones... can they? Christmas is meant to be the happiest time of year so why is absolutely everything going wrong for Daisy? Reeling from a bad breakup, moving back in with her parents and hounded by trouble at work she really shouldn’t be surprised when things go from bad to worse..and she ends up in A&E! Her great-grandmother persuaded her to plant a silver sixpence in the Christmas pud for luck but choking on the coin isn’t the ‘change’ she’d wished for. Yet when dashing Dr Noah Hartley saves the day things finally start to look up. With Christmas Day just around the corner Daisy’s determined to make her own luck...and hopefully bag herself a dishy doc in the process! A heart-warming christmas romance perfect for fans of Holly Martin, Debbie Johnson and Daisy James What readers are saying about A Very Lucky Christmas: "This book!!! I laughed so hard and loved these characters!" Reader review "This is a perfect Christmas read!" Reader review "This fun Christmas romance has it all" Reader review "This book is hilarious and the perfect Christmas season read" Reader review "It’s a fun and festive romance with some bite, perfect for Christmas" Reader review "A delight of a book... I couldn’t put it down. Absolutely hilarious... a relaxing read - but hard to get away from." Reader review "Great festive read." Reader review "I was so drawn into the storylines and the characters... Funny, full of laughs and... heart-warming." The Cosiest Corner "I really enjoyed this book... It was lovely to curl up on the sofa on a really wet day and forget about the world outside. I would definitely recommend this book." Reader review

I remember the silver sixpences in the Xmas Pud. Lucky if you don’t choke on it or swallow it.

This is a romance with some ick factor but otherwise very nice.

Not high storytelling but a nice duvet day read.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Our furry friends – sometimes with feathers or scales though

Fun idea and I do like the initials – and then there is ASS – Avian S Security

Definitely a fun read this set of stories, with lots of shifter romances of species that really shouldn’t like each other. The Rabbit and the Bear for instance.

Miranda is just so over the top, but her feral rabbit, well don’t encounter them is all I can offer.

This is Eve at her best. But I found that in Books 4/5/6 The premise gets a bit thinner and the stories are less giggly.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Sweet and Sour

When Life Gives You Lemons Book Cover When Life Gives You Lemons
Fiona Gibson
Romance, Humour, Marriage, Family
Avon,

Sometimes life can be bittersweet . . . Between tending to the whims of her seven-year-old and the demands of her boss, Viv barely gets a moment to herself. It’s not quite the life she wanted, but she hasn’t run screaming for the hills yet. But then Viv’s husband Andy makes his mid-life crisis her problem. He’s having an affair with his (infuriatingly age-appropriate) colleague, a woman who – unlike Viv – doesn’t put on weight when she so much as glances at a cream cake. Viv suddenly finds herself single, with zero desire to mingle. Should she be mourning the end of life as she knows it, or could this be the perfect chance to put herself first? When life gives you lemons, lemonade just won’t cut it. Bring on the gin!

A fun but yet serious book about what happens when a mid-life crisis hits – often the husband in a marriage, and how the wife deals with it.

Especially difficult when you have a late and unplanned child at Primary School and you are not a young mother …

And then you have a boss who seems incapable of doing anything at all for herself – she takes the concept of personal assistant just a tad too far… personal can be too personal you know?

Viv is capable of more, and wants to do more but life seems to have been stacked against her – until she finds that her husband leaving her brings out her strong side and she makes that elusive lemonade.

I enjoyed reading this book. Fiona always gives you a good giggle whilst making some serious points about how women are capable of so much more than they appear to others. Required reading for wives who leave far too much to husbands – or alternatively, let husbands do far too much. It’s fine to put yourself front and centre from time to time girls…

About the Author

Biography

Fiona Gibson

Fiona Gibson is the author of 15 romantic comedy novels, including the best-selling The Mum Who Got Her Life Back (Avon), which celebrates the empty nester years. Under the name of Ellen Berry, she also writes the heartwarming Rosemary Lane series (Snowdrops on Rosemary Lane is out in January 2020).

Fiona grew up in West Yorkshire, before working on Jackie and Just Seventeen magazines – in those heady pre-internet days when it was thrilling to get a free plastic mirror taped to the front of your magazine. She went on to edit More! magazine, where she introduced the infamous Position of the Fortnight. After having twin sons and a daughter, Fiona started to write novels, usually at night with the house full of toddlers and builders. She was sleep deprived anyway so it really didn’t make any difference.

She also loves to draw, paint and run – by some miracle she managed to finish the London Marathon 2019. With the kids all grown up now, she and her husband Jimmy live in Glasgow with their collie cross, Jack.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Wandering Cupid Cats

The Break Up Book Cover The Break Up
Tilly Tennant
Fiction, Romance , Women's Fiction
Bookouture
March 26, 2020

Lara and Theo are meant to be. They just don’t know it yet… Lara loves her job as a wedding planner. She gets to organise other people’s perfect days and make sure nothing ever goes wrong. Theo loves his job as a jazz musician, working unpredictable hours and giving other people great nights out. Lara knows she’s got high standards. But there’s nothing wrong with getting things right… so why has it stopped her finding Mr Right? Theo knows people think he’s a bit scruffy, a bit too laid back. But there’s nothing wrong with setting your own pace… if only he could find someone who wanted to live life at his speed. It’s okay, though. Lara gets to come home in the evening and have heart-to-hearts with her greedy grey cat Fluffy. And Theo can come home in the early hours and unwind with his loyal cat Satchmo. What they don’t know is that it’s the same cat. And when they find out – standing in the street in their pyjamas, both on the hunt for their lost pet – sparks of the wrong sort will fly… A wonderfully warm will-they-won’t-they romantic read that will have you laughing one minute and crying the next. If you’re a fan of Jill Mansell and Carole Matthews, A Cat Called Cupid is the love story you’ve been waiting for. What readers are saying about Tilly Tennant: ‘I loved every minute of it… I was glued to my Kindle for a few days that's for sure!… A really brilliant read that will leave you hooked even after a few pages.’ The Cosiest Corner, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Bloody brilliant… I loved being back with the characters… Oh I just enjoyed everything about it!’ I Love Reading, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘Put a smile on my face!… I've LOVED it!… the most heart-warming of stories… loving every single page… drawing you in and not letting you go until the end of the very last page… totally captivated!’ Chat About Books, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘I was hooked! Every chapter left me wanting to carry on reading. My housework and family have pretty much been neglected whilst I have read this!… This is the perfect holiday read, or lazy Sunday afternoon read or that perfect distraction to a dreary weekday commute.’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘I absolutely loved it. The story weaves together a tale of love, friendship, trust, desire and so much more. I will be reading more by this talented author.’ Haven’t Got a Clue, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ ‘I just want to say how fantastic this book is… If you’ve not read any books by this author, why the heck not?! Do it now… you won’t regret it! I just love love loved it.’ StefLoz Book Reviews, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Sweet cat story with human servants.
As cat owners know, many cats will tour neighbours and wander quite long distances. If, by any chance, someone starts to feed them, then they will visit regularly.
Cupid aka Fluffy (aka who knows how many names) is such a cat. Starting life as a stray means wandering was already in his behaviour patterns.
Fighting over who owns such a Wanderer is also common. The simple answer is don't feed cats that are in good condition.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Don’t let the imps out in the snow….

An Impish Christmas
A Shifter Academy
Angel Leya
Young Adult Holiday Rom Com , Sci Fi & Fantasy, Teens & YA
BooksGoSocial
Pub Date 12 Nov 2019

This Year, Kenzie's going to make Christmas great again. 😉

Kenzie is finally at the Shifter Academy, living her dreams, dating her super hot (and super granola) cat shifter boyfriend. After all the drama of last year, making this Christmas the best ever should be a piece of pie (make that a large slice with extra whipped cream). Right?

Wrong.

When Kenzie’s Christmas plans meet with heavy reluctance, Kenzie’s left holding the decorations all by herself. Oh, except for the impossibly adorable mer guy, who seemed to be on team make-Kenzie’s-life-miserable, now wants to help. What’s with that?

Add to the mix a dash of magic gone awry, and now Kenzie’s chasing a magical imp that’s tearing down all her attempts to jollify the joint.

She’ll need to track down the imp, undo the errant magic, and get everyone in the Christmas spirit before time runs out. Fail, and she could be expelled—or worse, the school might just come crumbling down. Again.

This story is a part of the Shifter Academy world, and occurs about one year following the USA Today bestselling Siren Prophecy series, but can be read as a stand-alone novel. Perfect for fans of heartwarming Christmas shenanigans, like The Grinch, and sweet holiday romantic comedies.

3 stars for me as rather light.

A YA story in the Shifters’ Academy series of stories.

There are some amusing antics of the Imp related even though I did guess who was the Imp fairly early on. The clues were all there. It is a nice setting with a touch of Hogwarts – a hidden railway train and platforms and all… for the intended audience a 4.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com