Books
0 Comments

No Prince at all

No Prince Charming Book Cover No Prince Charming
Secrets of Stone #1
Angel Payne, Victoria Blue
Fiction
Waterhouse Press LLC
March 6, 2018
352

Once upon a time, a girl attended a big party at the palace, met a prince, and they fell in love… My name is Claire Montgomery, and I’m no princess. I’m a fighter. I’ve worked hard to earn my place with one of the largest public relations companies in the country, and I’m on the verge of one of the most important victories of my career. We’ve been called to Stone Global Corporation to clean up the family’s filthiest laundry, and I’m on my game. I’m ready. But am I ready for Killian Stone? They say it’s never too late to live happily ever after… I’m Killian Stone. They call me the Enigma of the Magnificent Mile. Elite tycoons want into my bank account, and their wives and daughters want into my pants. They’ll do anything for a piece of the enigma—until a crack in our castle is too large to ignore. I’m thrilled. This scandalous fissure distracts everyone’s attention from the bigger secret I’m hiding. But when Claire Montgomery walks through my door, I’m captivated. For the first time in my life, I long to shed the enigma. To share…my secret.

This is a nicely written story about a 'prince'_ a rich entrepreneur - and a romance with a 'poor' girl.
Claire works for a very high powered PR firm which specialises in turning disasters into 'wins'
She is the most junior member of team and works mostly behind the scenes. Which suits her very well as she has a secret-one which, if made known, could end up with her in jail. And this secret is being held over her by the daughter of the firm's owner.,
Killian, the Stone family's 'prince also has a secret. One which is not just his but the stone family's too.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Easy to forget

Unforgettable Thrills - Passion and Power
(The Unforgettables Book 9)
Mimi Barbour, Suzanne Jenkins, Tamara Ferguson, Taylor Lee, Stacy Eato,Susan Jean Ricci
Anthologies, Romantic Suspense
Chill Out! (15 Nov. 2018)

Get captivated by Unforgettable Thrills, a bundled set of saucy, mind-blowing suspense stories of Passion and Power that will stoke your desire, build a hunger for thrills, and then feed you with a banquet of romantic delights you hope will never end. Our strong, savvy heroines conquer overwhelming odds with their ingenuity and skills - their protective heroes bringing pleasure beyond expectations. This unsurpassable mix by NY Times and USA Today bestselling authors will have you cheering alongside them as they triumph over life’s challenges.

Mimi Barbour – Special Agent Charli - Stressed from a previous assignment, Special Agent Charli now has to keep a teen safe in witness protection from a notorious killer. Can life get much worse?
Oh yeah…

Suzanne Jenkins – Esmeralda’s Happy Time Cabin for Lost Hikers - Traders with a golden touch, Kelly and Jeff Fairchild lived a charmed life in a renovated Victorian mansion in the Jersey suburbs, planning their hiking trip to an island in the Canadian Muskoka with the same detail and finesse used with their deals on Wall Street. Nothing can go wrong, right?

Tamara Ferguson – That Unforgettable Kiss - Six years after Crew Boss Kate Callahan shares an unforgettable kiss with architectural intern Michael Murphy, Murphy returns to Crystal Rock, Wisconsin to try and win Kate back. Discovering the town is hiding an ominous secret, will Murphy be able to protect Kate from an unknown predator?

Taylor Lee – Sapphire - Agents “Sapphire” and Malone fight the criminally insane mastermind, but will their fierce personal attraction to each other threaten to bring them – and their mission to stop human trafficking – down?

Dani Haviland – How to Fix a Broken Life - Arlie Biggar is back in Alaska with his new family. Life is nice and boring until his pregnant wife is kidnapped by jihadists who have recruited local thugs to help them steal the local sporting goods store’s arsenal.

Jacquie Biggar – Twilight’s Encore - When a series of sabotages wreak havoc on the theatre and danger threatens Katy’s life, can Ty save her and win back her love, or is it too late for
these star-crossed lovers?

Susan Jean Ricci – Evasion - The Native American wife of a prominent physician has a marriage to be envied, but it’s a farce. When she is abducted by one of her husband’s enemies, will her spouse intervene before it’s too late or hide behind his lies?

Stacy Eaton – Distorted Loyalty - Emergency room Doctor Rachel Wilde and Detective Grant Murphy meet by chance and it takes only one glance and a simple gentle touch to ignite their senses.

Melinda De Ross – The Plot – After escaping a human trafficking organization, Yoko’s only purpose is revenge on the powerful mobster who destroyed her innocence. Soon, an unlikely — and unsolicited — ally is determined to help her, not just to get payback, but to heal and discover love.

A box set with stories from several different series and thus very different contexts and styles. Not enough appeal for me to complete all stories.

I read 5 of the stories:

1. Special Agent Charli: Mimi Barbour

I liked this story and style and the special agent. I would read more of this series.

2. Esmeralda’s Happy: Suzanne Jenkins

Bored me and I failed to finish

3. Kissed by Fate: Tamara Ferguson

Sweet and I like the idea of a female construction boss who can build basically anything she puts her hand to including plumbing and carpentry which are very different skill sets

4. Sapphire: Taylor Lee

It was very ‘hot ‘ stuff and read as though the author was uncomfortable writing it. And unfortunately the ‘ideal’ woman, according to this story is a page 3 model. Large breasts. Small waists and curvy bottom. Very common shape though amongst many authors. Are these male authors? Shame on you whoever you are.

5. Distorted Loyalty: Stacy Eaton

Nothing special about this story.

6. Evasion: A Short story : Susan Jean Ricci

All too pat. And we never foundout what Marshall promised Mum.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Magic spells do what?

Under Your Spell Book Cover Under Your Spell
Cajun Demons MC
Cynthia Rayne
military romance, romantic suspense

Love can be magical. And deadly.
Chloe
After my grand-mère was murdered, I returned to Bayou Noir to find the killer. And I had just one suspect, Xavier Richelieu. But I forgot just how superstitious the folks in my old hometown can be. A voodoo priestess, a supposed vampire, and a grumpy gator are on the loose. I don't believe in this crazy supernatural stuff, but I am worried about seeing my old crush again, Saint. And I should be. Somehow, he's even more gorgeous than I remember. I'm tempted to leave my good girl ways behind and take a long, hard ride with the biker.
Saint
I've got better things to do than follow Chloe around, but she seems bound and determined to get herself killed. Somebody needs to watch her back and it might as well be me. She's running hot and cold, but one way or the other, I'm gonna sweet talk her into my bed. I'm used to keeping my distance from women, but with Chloe, I can't get close enough.
Under Your Spell is a fast-paced, action packed, MC romance with some paranormal elements. This full-length standalone novel contains a hot biker, explicit language, scorching sex scenes, and an HEA.

Motor cycle clubs in the environs of New Orleans – a popular trope – and did one of the ‘real’ Salem witches settle in the town? Is there ‘real’ magic? And what about Voodoo?

All these are questions that the book raises in its storyline and attempts to answer with some spooky occurrences and murder.

In this trope a good girl always reforms a bad boy – especially one who is, I effect, a male whore and can’t keep his trousers zipped up, and finds himself falling for the one woman he can be faithful to. In addition, she helps him wise up to his criminal activities and take a more honourable route to living.

4 stars for light reading and quite a nice telling of this typical storyline.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Fairy tale town USA – spells and witches

A Slice of Christmas Magic Book Cover A Slice of Christmas Magic
One More Chapter #2
by A. G. Mayes
Romance
Harper Impulse and Killer Reads

A magical Christmas mystery perfect for fans of Debbie Macomber! A recipe for festive disaster… With Aunt Erma back in charge of her magical pie shop Susanna Daniels thought life would return to normal. But there is no ‘normal’ in Hocus Hills and as the most magical time of year approaches Susie finds herself in a race to stop a magic revolution. Add in the unexpected arrival of the one that got away and a mysterious dog named Duncan, and it’s clear that this will be one Christmas that Susie will never forget!

Initially I found this book confusing. Have I read the first chapters before? Was it at the end of a previous book? Or did I read an early draft?

Or something else?

I thought that this story was not quite up to the standard of book 1. Perhaps because the ‘strange’ in the story is now familiar. It needed for me more than the same enemies.

I was very worried about the level of diabetes in this community with the amount of cream pie they are eating. A very American dessert and thing to do. Perhaps the author could let them eat something healthier occasionally? A fruit flan would be an improvement.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Marry in haste?

The Christmas Wedding Book Cover The Christmas Wedding
#1 Little Creek
by Dilly Court
Historical romance, women's fiction
HarperCollins UK, HarperFiction
17 Oct 2019

The village of Little Creek, the long winter of 1867  The first flakes of snow are falling when Daisy Marshall, secretly engaged to her master's son, finds herself jilted at the altar. Heartbroken, Daisy flees to the small village of Little Creek, nestled on the coast of Essex. There she is warmly welcomed – but the village is poverty-stricken, suffering under a cruel Lord of the manor. And when cholera hits, the villagers are truly in dire straits. Determined to help, Daisy makes new friends in earnest doctor Nicholas and dashing smuggler Jay – but also dangerous new enemies, who threaten to destroy everything she’s built. Can Daisy save the village and find happiness in time for Christmas?

So what do you do if you are brought up as a Lady, and don’t have any skills other than keeping house? Or maybe, being a Governess.

The perennial problem facing young women back in the – well most centuries before women went out to anything other menial work.

And when you lose what little income you have, you fall back on your family – if you have one.

And this is the story that we follow here, but we have a dashing pirate – well smuggler, as so many were along the British southern coast (as my husband’s family can testify!) and a villainy lord of the manor – all good gothic elements for a romance story.

Nicely told with some good historical facts and descriptions of the poverty that so many villagers lived in where huts were basically mud floors and mostly mud walls and roofs..  with rents and work under the control of the local lord – even in the 19th century.

Gentle and cosy by the fire reading because it all works out in the end – as it must.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com