Books
0 Comments

Blended Families: Book Review

stepsister - Blended Families: Book Review The Stepsisters
Susan Mallery
Mills & Boon
25 May 2021
four star - Blended Families: Book Review

Who better to mend a broken heart than your sister?

When Daisy’s dad married Sage's mum, Daisy was thrilled to get a new sister. Except Sage was beautiful and popular, everything Daisy was not, and she made sure Daisy knew it.

Sage found herself living in a palatial home where she felt she didn't belong. She didn't have her new sister’s intelligence so she used her popularity as a weapon, putting Daisy down at every opportunity. After the divorce, the stepsisters' rivalry continued until the final straw: Daisy married Sage's first love, and Sage fled to Europe.

Eighteen years later, Daisy never expects—or wants—to see Sage again. But brought together by an accident involving the little sister they have in common they must learn to put aside their differences. Slowly, the stepsisters begin to view the past through one another's eyes and long buried feelings are revealed. Until their fragile truce is threatened by one careless act that could have devastating consequences….

I also gave this book to a friend to read to ensure that my thoughts were valld.
Together we felt that despite the book having no printing errors - which is  what we would expect from this publisher, there were perhaps some plot lines that had gone awry, for instance arriving at a cafe by bike and leaving by car. What happened to the bikes?
The book was diverting and worth a summer garden/beachside read, but no more than that. The genre was '"poor little rich dysfunctional "girls""; with angel-or-devil men,  a somewhat improbable plot - perhaps compensated for by clever dialogue. 
A creative-writing exercise would be to present it from the viewpoint of Esmerelda the Filipina housekeeper, who had a tragic backstory but seemed the most level-headed of them all (probably stereotyping but offers room for character development by another author?).
 Perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan and Heidi Swain

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

What you and your sister might do:

content?id=L2MFEAAAQBAJ&printsec=frontcover&img=1&zoom=1&edge=curl&source=gbs api - What you and your sister might do: The Stepsisters
Susan Mallery
Fiction, Contemporary Romance,
HarperCollins UK
May 25, 2021
400

Who better to mend a broken heart than your sister?

When Daisy’s dad married Sage's mum, Daisy was thrilled to get a new sister. Except Sage was beautiful and popular, everything Daisy was not, and she made sure Daisy knew it.

Sage found herself living in a palatial home where she felt she didn't belong. She didn't have her new sister’s intelligence so she used her popularity as a weapon, putting Daisy down at every opportunity. After the divorce, the stepsisters' rivalry continued until the final straw: Daisy married Sage's first love, and Sage fled to Europe.

Eighteen years later, Daisy never expects—or wants—to see Sage again. But brought together by an accident involving the little sister they have in common they must learn to put aside their differences. Slowly, the stepsisters begin to view the past through one another's eyes and long buried feelings are revealed. Until their fragile truce is threatened by one careless act that could have devastating consequences….

image 16 683x1024 - What you and your sister might do:

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Who likes a wedding?

happily - Who likes a wedding? Happily This Christmas
Happily inc #6
by Susan Mallery
Romance | Women's Fiction
Mills & Boon
Pub Date 29 Sep 2020
four star - Who likes a wedding?

It’s the season of love, forgiveness… and tidings of trouble!

Wynn Beauchene is exactly where she wants to be: a successful business owner and single mum. Lately, however, something feels like it's missing. Even worse is Wynn's attraction to the gorgeous policeman next door.

With his pregnant daughter coming to stay, Garrick McCabe has one last chance to repair their strained relationship. Except his daughter seems to have turned into the Grinch, and now Garrick needs Wynn's help to turn this festive fiasco around… before it's too late.

For Garrick and Wynn, a little chaos is the perfect gift for revealing what—and who—matters most

Everyone in Happily Inc of course – after all this is what the town does – provides destination weddings. Not my first read of this series and hopefully, not my last.

So in this story we do neighbours and second chance romances; plus a few unexpected babies and pregnancies and how single mothers/fathers and others deal with them.

We concentrate on Garrick and Wynn, neighbours. She runs a printing and design company, has a son of 14 born out of wedlock; he is a Captain in the town police force and had a child when he was 17, who initially lived with her mother, but has come home to roost now at 21, pregnant, with her Marine husband deployed overseas.

Babies are very much the theme and how they grow up to become difficult teenagers! I am sure that many mothers will empathise with the problems discussed and the feeling that whatever you do you could be wrong but you just have to do the best you can.

And of course, you hear about some of the zany wedding themes that people can have.

As a UK person I still flinch when the talk comes round to guns and the police, and how the Military, in all its forms, has an element of hero-worship for many citizens in the States. The current situation in the States with police, guns and vigilantes re-emphasises this concern in me.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

When Friends become Sisters

Three Sisters
(Blackberry Island, 2)
Susan Mallery
Fiction, American Fiction
Mira Books; Reissue ed. edition
(17 May 2016)
three star - When Friends become Sisters

In this heartwarming and celebrated Blackberry Island novel, #1 New York Times bestselling author Susan Mallery introduces us to three women whose friendship is about to change their lives forever.

After Andi Gordon is jilted at the altar, she makes an impetuous decision--buying one of the famed Three Sisters on Blackberry Island. Now the proudish owner of the ugly duckling of the trio of Queen Anne houses, her life is just as badly in need of a major renovation as her new home.

When Deanna Phillips confronts her husband about a suspected affair, she opens up a Pandora's Box of unhappiness. In her quest to be the perfect woman, she's lost herself...and could lose her entire family if things don't change.

Next door, artist Boston King thought she and her college sweetheart would be married forever. But after tragedy strikes, she's not so sure. Now it's time for them to move forward, with or without one another.

Thrown together by fate and geography, and bound by the strongest of friendships, these three women will discover what they're truly made of: laughter, tears and love.

So perhaps this intended as a story for female entrepreneurs to not lose sight of family and friends - to not get too engrossed in your business? Or not a morality tale at all? The reader must judge for themselves.
BlackBerry island is another of those mythical small USA places where everyday knows everyone and it's all good. Part of the American mythology. Do I sound cynical? Maybe. I just don't believe in them and find too many authors do.
Initially I failed to see the added value of Clandestine Kitty until they started adding unique touches. My guess is that the Internet is less widely used in America than England where Amazon and a host of online retailers can provide direct from manufacturing to users.
But a nice read despite the above.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Weddings and Animals

content?id=BMuYDwAAQBAJ&printsec=frontcover&img=1&zoom=1&source=gbs api - Weddings and Animals Meant To Be Yours
Susan Mallery
Fiction, romance
HarperCollins UK, Mills and Boon
October 22, 2019
464
four star - Weddings and Animals

Renee can plan the perfect wedding, but does love always go to plan? Wedding coordinator Renee Grothen isn’t meant for marriage. Those who can, do. Those who can’t, plan. But she never could have planned on gorgeous, talented thriller writer Jasper Dembenski proposing—a fling, that is. Fun without a future. And the attraction between them is too strong for Renee to resist. Now she can have her no-wedding cake…and eat it, too. After years in the military, Jasper is convinced he’s too damaged for relationships. So a flirtation—and more—with fiery, determined Renee is way too good to pass up…until his flame becomes his muse. Renee is an expert at averting every crisis. But is she finally ready to leap into the one thing that can never be controlled: love?

Here we have an author and PTSD and Dog meets a Wedding Planner with a Mum who can… (spoiler not included).

It is this Mum who gave her daughter serious issues with her won relationships – the daughter loses boyfriend after boyfriend… Absolutely love the Mum here!  And what she discovers.

Now Happily inc, a wedding themed town, I can believe in but could never live there… Overall a nicely written story with an unusual setting and wacky ideas – for weddings! I just had to assume that people had actually done this, and sure enough there were several Pinterest pictures of a Zebra theme but no actual zebras in these pics…

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com