Books
0 Comments

Hunt Souls? Really?

eden - Hunt Souls? Really? Eden Hunter trilogy
Eden Hunter trilogy
D.N. Erikson (Author)
low fantasy, dark fantasy
kindle
four star - Hunt Souls? Really?

A razor-snark, sun-soaked urban fantasy trilogy for fans of Jim Butcher and Ilona Andrews.

You'd think coming back to life on a beautiful island would be a good thing.
Turns out life on the beach kind of sucks. Especially when you spend it harvesting souls for a vampire.

But after four years of reluctant "employment," things have somehow gotten worse. Some jackass just framed me for murdering an old friend. And the cops seem pretty damn sure I did it. More concerning than potential jail time: the local goddess of rain wants my head for the crime.

You see, we cut a little deal when I came back to life that no one knows about. What'd I get from her? I'm not telling. But I'll tell you what I gave up: no weapons and no murder.

Pretty easy to follow, right? I thought so. Well, if you're a Reaper, it's a pain in the ass. Because a creature's gotta die for you to reap its soul. And despite the postcard sunsets, it gets pretty dangerous in the jungle without a gun.

Never say the gods don't have a sense of humor. But this time the joke is on me. Because if I don't find the real killer—and why they pinned this mess on me—before the week is through, I'll be returning to the land of the dead.

And this time, it'll be for good.

A trilogy of stories about a fantastical island that is hidden from normal (and usually human), view. It is populated with a mix of magical and mythical creatures plus some normal humans that have either discovered it or have been brought there.

Eden was a con artist. A grifter. Until she was murdered – specifically so she could be revived on this island and bound into service by the ancient vampire – who had founded the island as his serfdom, and who had hidden the island from view.

Eden’s task, bound by a magical contract which cannot be broken, is to harvest souls. Souls are the fuel for magic on this island.

The stories tell of her more than shady adventures, as she attempts to fulfil her contract – no killing permitted, she is only permitted to harvest from the already dead – and outwit the people who want her dead for various reasons. Or to use her. Or…

The first book starts rather slowly and although the writing style is reasonable, it lacked enough humour for me. Eden is snarky and resourceful, good with one-liners, but her dialogue could have had more humour. The books improved as the story progressed and it seemed to me that the author grew more confident in style and the characters and their behaviours.

So I read all three books in the end.

Share This:

Books
0 Comments

Magic comes when it is night-time

Magic after Dark
multi
mythology, fantasy, folklore
Wetknee Books
(4 Mar. 2019)
kindle
four star - Magic comes when it is night-time

Dive into the darker side of magic

Enter the underbelly of city life, where werewolves, demons, and vampires stalk the streets. These six bestselling urban fantasy novels plus bonus novella will submerge you in a page-turning world of modern magic.

Half Wolf by Aimee Easterling: When half-werewolf Fen is cast out of her home pack, she and an unlikely ally are forced to shore up her waning power in an effort to save half-shifters everywhere.

Unquiet Souls by Christine Pope: When the hosts of the new Project Demon Hunters show investigate a demon-infested mansion, evil follows Audrey Barrett home...and she learns why her co-host is the last man she can trust.

Dark Hunt by Kim Richardson: Tasked with tracking down a demon that's killing humans, hunter Rowyn is forced to partner with an angel-born warrior who has an ulterior motive. But Rowyn's own dark secret could upend everything...

A Fistful of Evil by Rebecca Chastain: Madison actively avoids her soul-sight—until she witnesses ethereal monsters feasting on a stranger's soul...and the monsters notice her. Thrust into a dangerous new world, Madison must master her atrophied abilities fast if she has any hope of survival.

The Wolf Within by M.J. Scott: Ashley Keenan just wants to be normal. But then her ex-lover, now werewolf, turns up with a lead on the vampire who murdered her family. To survive, she might just have to leave normal behind and embrace her inner monster.

Vampire Midnight by Gary Jonas: Kelly Chan agrees to kill a vampire, but finds herself under his spell. How do you kill something you've been commanded to protect?

Sylphide by K. Gorman: When a private investigator breaks into Allish Statia's apartment and threatens her with a gun, she is able to use her Wind Elemental powers to subdue the man—but he is only part of something much bigger. Something that wants the destruction of her, her husband, and every single Mage in the city.


A set of 7 stories – with 2 particular stories by authors that I followed up into their series.

The first stories were excellent – and really only 1 was not so good, Sylphide. I liked the Kelly Chan series, and Aimee Easterlings’ Half Wolf. She is an author that I like anyway.

  1. Magic after dark
  2. Half wolf – Aimee Easterling is one of my new favourite authors, and I am happy to read 99.9% of her books and series.
  3. Unquiet souls
  4. Dark hunt
  5. A fistful of evil – this became a very interesting series. Soul sight was more than that it seems, and acknowledging it means that Madison learns to use her lux luminis – which is what she called soul sight, in defence of her territory. This defence meant fighting creatures invisible to norms but ones which feed on their souls and drain their good, sometimes replacing it with evil. These creatures can kill Madison and she has to learn to defend herself in a number of unusual ways that seem puzzling to normals. And she has grate difficulty explaining her new job to her family as she can;’t tell them the truth. I enjoyed the books I have read in this series, but have come to the end of my enjoyment after A Fistful of Frost.
  6. The wolf within –
  7. Vampire midnight – This story I found unusual and followed it up with another in the series. The idea of a heroine who is magically enhanced so that she is the most kick-ass of all was interesting. What was disturbing was that she came by her magic because she has been sold by her parents to warlocks; who repeatedly killed her so she could be brought back to life, and who removed her ability to feel pain – thus beig able to fight on when seriously injured. However, she now teaches abused women how to fight and also rescues abused women from their dire situations. So a good heroine who learnt from her experience that abusing women was not on… It did get rather graphic in places and the detail of some of the fights and the numbers killed were rather too much at times.
  8. Sylphide – an extra story – 1 star, boring.

Share This:

Books/book review/Fantasy/fiction/Romance
0 Comments

Who is the craziest here?






crazy - Who is the craziest here?




Crazy Ella




Crazy Ella in Love





Eve Langlais





ghosts, witches, vampires, paranormal




CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform; 2 edition




(8 Oct. 2013)


four star - Who is the craziest here?

Ella’s always heard voices and because of them, she ends up institutionalized at a young age. Everyone calls her crazy and she believes she is too until the night she meets a vampire and for the first time in her life, the voices shut up. Zane just wants to enjoy his usual blood buffet, instead he runs into a wisp of a woman who makes him feel emotions he thought long dead. Rescuing her from the insane asylum, he brings her home, determined to seduce and feed from her, a plan that is foiled by ghostly voices determined to keep Ella untouched. But not even poltergeists can stand in the way of a vampire in love.

This is a fun read in the best style of Eve Langlais, where she takes a story trope – the falsely imprisoned female – and gives it a twist. The females are usually full of vim and vigour and Ella is not different. Despite her long time in the Asylum, she has learnt ways to circumvent the worst aspects.

She is fun, although I am not sure about  the explanations about her voices. This is – so far anyway – a short series of just 2 books and this is book 1. No doubt I will read book 2 in due course, but I was not immediately inspired to do so.

Share This:

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By : XYZScripts.com